Indian Institute of ScienceEventsLinksAlumniPhotosContact Us
Navigation bar
spacer Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry spacer
IPC-Front-View spacer spacer
Department of
Inorganic and Physical Chemistry

spacer spacer

The Inorganic and Physical Chemistry (IPC) department is one of the most prestigious departments at the Indian Institute of Science and is devoted to advanced research and teaching in chemistry. Since its inception in 1909, the department has distinguished itself as a Centre for innovative and pioneering research in a wide range of areas in inorganic and physical chemistry. It was elevated to the status of a UGC Centre of Advanced Study in 1980 in recognition to its achievements in these fields and recently to the status of DST-FIST Sponsored Department. The major research efforts are focussed on such areas as molecular structure and dynamics, laser spectroscopy, organometallic and coordination chemistry, bioinorganic and biomimetic chemistry, energy systems, catalysis, polymers and electrochemistry.

Prof. Kalpagam, a former faculty of this department, passed away recently

Kaushal Kishore Memorial &
Royal Society of Chemistry (Deccan Section)
Summer Research Fellowship 2015

For details, eligibility, forms, and instructions, click here. The application deadline in 28th February 2015.


November 2014: Prof. E. D. Jemmis was awarded the Swadeshi Sasthra Puraskaram 2014 of the Swadeshi Science Movement, the Kerala wing of Vignana Bharati, on 6th November 2014 at the Swadeshi Science Congress held at Malayalam University Campus, Malappuram, Kerala.

November 2014: Prof. G. Mugesh has joined the Editorial Board of the Bioorganic Chemistry, an Elsevier journal.

October 2014: Prof. E. Arunan has joined the Editorial Board of the Journal of Molecular Spectroscopy, an Elsevier journal.

September 2014: Prof. S. Vasudevan has joined the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Physical Chemistry A, an ACS journal.

July 2014: Prof. B. R. Jagirdar has been selected for the Professor C. N. R. Rao National Prize for Chemical Research for the year 2015 by the Chemical Research Society of India.

June 2014: Profs. G. Mugesh and P. S. Mukherjee have joined the Editorial Board of Scientific Reports, a journal of the Nature Publishing Group.

June 2014: Prof. A. R. Chakravarty has received the IISc Alumni Award for Excellence in Research (2013).

May 2014: Prof. B. R. Jagirdar was awarded the A. V. Rama Rao Foundation Prize at JNCASR, Bangalore.

spacer spacer
Navigation bar